top of page

Happy Founder's Day to the Men of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Incorporated

The National PanHellenic Council Inc., Charlotte Chapter congratulates Kappa Alpha Psi® Fraternity, Inc. on its 111th Founders’ Day

Charlotte, NC— January 5th, 2022 — The National PanHellenic Council Inc. - Charlotte Chapter celebrates the 111th Founders’ Day of Kappa Alpha Psi® Fraternity, Inc. January 5th, 1911, in Bloomington Indiana at Indiana University by ten college men: Elder Watson Diggs, Byron K. Armstrong, John M. Lee, Henry T. Asher, Marcus P. Blakemore, Guy L. Grant, Paul W. Caine, George W. Edmonds, Ezra D. Alexander and Edward G. Irvin.

According to the history of Kappa Alpha Psi® Fraternity, Inc., The ideals of the church were an important foundation of the Fraternity. One of the 5 Objectives of the Fraternity is: “To promote the spiritual, social, intellectual and moral welfare of members.” -A Brief History - Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. ( It goes on to state that the Fraternity is the 2nd oldest existing collegiate historically Black Greek Letter Fraternity and the 1st intercollegiate Fraternity incorporated as a national body. Kappa Alpha Psi® has over 125,000 members with 700 undergraduate and alumni chapters in nearly every state of the United States including international chapters in Nigeria, South Africa, the West Indies, the United Kingdom, Germany, Korea and Japan.

The National PanHellenic Council Inc. - Charlotte Chapter supports the programs and initiative of the Charlotte (NC) Alumni Chapter and is proud of the accomplishments of the past 111 years and look forward to the bright future ahead for Kappa Alpha Psi® Fraternity, Inc.


The Charlotte (NC) Alumni Chapter is located in Kappa Alpha Psi’s Middle Eastern Province and is a member of the local Greek Organizations of the National Pan-Hellenic Council - Charlotte Chapter.

The National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC) was founded on May 10, 1930 at Howard University in Washington, DC. The chartering organizations were: Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., and Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. In 1931, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., and Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc., joined the council, followed by Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. in 1937. The NPHC incorporated under the laws of the State of Illinois in 1937. Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc. joined the NPHC as its ninth (9th) affiliate member in 1997.

For more information, press only:

Sonya Worrell

NPHC of Charlotte – Publicity Committee Chairman

33 views0 comments


bottom of page